Earth Day 2010. Bye Bye My Beautiful Automobile!

I did it! I can’t believe I did it!! I turned in my car. I am officially WithOut a Car.

It has been a strange day. I had a business meeting down by the capital at 9:00 a.m. and I took the train as usual. During the meeting, I could actually feel  anxiety rising as I was trying to focus on the topic at hand.  I actually felt a bit of fear, sadness and a LOT of anxiety.  Am I crazy to do this? What was I thinking?

I am an adventurous person. I have gone bungee jumping, skydiving, hang gliding and a few other fun things in my day and right before I step off the platform, out of the plane or let go of the rope, I would get this overwhelming sense of “What in the h*** am I doing?”  Today was a bit like that!

And then there is the thrill! I did it. I actually returned my car, months before the lease was up,  so I could live up to my commitment, walk my talk and reduce my carbon footprint.

I am now at home, not really fully aware of what I have done because tonight, I play tennis in Piedmont Park, across the street from where I live. (I actually won my division and am in the playoffs-yahoo me!!!) So, I will do as I usually do; hop on my bike, ride across the park and play tennis.  I am not missing my car—yet.

Check in with me tomorrow because I am attending Earth Share of Atlanta’s Leadership Breakfast at 8:00 am …….at the Aquarium.  A place where I might drive to at that hour. But I won’t. I can’t. Because I am Going AWOC – Atlanta WithOut a Car!

This entry was posted in Day 1 - I did it! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Earth Day 2010. Bye Bye My Beautiful Automobile!

  1. Leslie says:

    I love this. I have been trying to get rid of my car. It just sits in a garage. And I make payments on it. I don’t use it and here I am paying for it. I am upside down on this thing. So, how did you get rid of your car before your lease was up? How do I get rid of my car that I owe so much on. Sigh. Someday I will be AWOC- without the bill…

  2. Karin Koser says:

    Stephanie, I am so proud of you! Wow!

    And I love the video, it made me a little teary eyed this morning.

    My favorite part was you walking away with your backpack and flats. It occurred to me at our meeting this week that you had on flats instead of your usual flats but I guess i didn’t know it had all begun – and now I understand why. You know what, you got the legs for ’em baby but more importantly the heart for them and this whole deal.

    Way to go.

  3. Way to go girl. I went to the Banff film feslival and watched an independent adventure film called Take a Seat. His adventure was similar to yours… “cycle the 32,000 kilometres from the northern coast of Alaska to the southern tip of South America, on a tandem bike, picking up random strangers on the way.” He did it as a statement about your same misson and I think had a one year tme frame. In case you ever want to make your adventure blog and vblogs into a film, check his out.

  4. Rex says:

    Good for you. Does it feel like a phantom appendage? You find yourself reaching for car keys that aren’t there? We have four cars in our family, but you’ve got me wondering if there isn’t a way to get by with less.

Comments are closed.