Hot’lanta? Yes it is!

I know. I haven’t written is a while as many of you have reminded me. So, I have to confess why.

I got very discouraged.

As the temperatures and humidity elevated, my enthusiasm deflated. I don’t think my body has experienced this feeling of HOT- ever….even after living in Puerto Rico! And since this is my first blog, I was unsure how to go forward knowing I was feeling this way.

When I first started thinking about living WithOut a Car, I wasn’t thinking about maintaining a blog. But, as I got into writing it, I began to hear from you about changes you have made as a result of reading the posts; maybe not giving up your car, but things you advanced or now do differently in your life.

So, I began to realize up close and personally, the power of the blog. And as you began to share, I began to realize that what I was doing was inspiring change which is a mission of my company, but I did not expect to have this impact on you about something I was doing personally.  So when I realized this journey was a source of inspiration, and I began to feel so deflated, I did not want to discourage you so I have been stuck….

And then a conversation with some close personal advisors helped me realize how much that is a part of the process. That, along with working to secure Auden Schendler, Executive Director of Sustainability for Aspen Skiing Company, to speak at the upcoming EXPO, helped me become unstuck. My friends and Auden’s key points inspired me. Auden makes the point that education and inspiration is as much about sharing successes as sharing the challenges and failures. And real learning comes when you share your failures because it is hard, he says.  So, in the spirit of ‘bring me your failures’ I am back.

I have much to share about the challenges and different ways I am approaching work and play during summer in the south. But rest assured,  I am not wavering from Going AWOC…Atlanta WithOut a Car!

This entry was posted in The Latest. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hot’lanta? Yes it is!

  1. I’d love to hear some anecdotes about your personal struggles with being a pedestrian in the heat. I would say that my experience with this in New York left me with some very humorous tales about why I don’t go underground in the summer, strange things I have seen, and even some small thoughts about grime and sweat and summer.

    Personally, I’m here to make suggestions. . . or add useful comments.

    Michelle

  2. Jodi Consolino says:

    Atta girl! Way to work through your situation and realize the benefit in your struggle. Isn’t it through our adversity that we have our most profound growth? Just look at how your story is challenging us all.

  3. Deborah Loomis says:

    Stephanie,

    Congradulations! you have learned one of the most valuable lessons life has to offer. You are correct, it is through our stuggles and challenges, that life provides us with our greatest strengths. I know personally how hard it can be to struggle with a challenge but I’ve also been blessed with the opportunity to share with others and through my experience be able to be a voice of true understanding to others on the same path. Please know that what you are doing is a great testimony to your personal strength and committment to our ecology. We should all be ready to make the necessary changes individually in order to have a stronger impact globally. I support you and your efforts and know that many others do as well. YOU are a maverick and a great inspiration to others who believe in doing our part to care for our planet and make wiser ‘sustainable’ choices. Rock On!

  4. rexhauck says:

    The truth as I see it Steph is that so much of what you have undertaken in the last three years has been ‘hard’. Your current life does not bear much resemblance to you of 1000 days ago- and look how far you’ve come – the illusion of comfort no longer shutters your eyes or heart. This is from Annie Dillard’s – A Pilgrim at Tinker Creek – you are such a pilgrim.

    I think that the dying pray at the last not ‘please’, but ‘thank you’, as a guest thanks his host at the door. Falling from airplanes the people are crying thank you, thank you, all down the air; and the cold carriages draw up for them on the rocks. Divinity is not playful. The universe was not made in jest but in solemn incomprehensible earnest. By a power that is unfathomably secret, and holy, and fleet. There is nothing to be done about it, but ignore it, or see. And then you walk fearlessly, eating what you must, growing wherever you can, like the monk on the road who knows precisely how vulnerable he is, who takes no comfort among death-forgetting men, and who carries his vision of vastness and might around in his tunic like a live coal which neither burns nor warms him, but with which he will not part.

Comments are closed.