Latest Realizations – A Peek into My Tent

I am aware as I write that I have moist eyes because of the journey that  lies ahead for me today. This morning I will attend a service for the passing of a friend who bravely battled gocaOvarian Cancer for over 15 years. Ginger started the GA Ovarian Cancer Society (GOCA) and was the epitome of fortitude.

Last night, I was mapping the train, plane, and automobile route to get to her service and I realized it was going to take about two hours to get to the church in Sandy Springs. And then another 2 home, plus the service. After examining several routes and possibilities, I decided to combine walking, train, bus and taxi then reverse order to get back to the Global Headquarters of the company, my home office in midtown.

As you know, I am jammin’ with plannin’ for the C Suite and Sustainability event, and the GreenBusiness Works EXPO. Time is precious and I found myself asking if I could afford this amount of travel time – 4 hours out of my day.  I feel very sheepish mentioning that this thought entered my head. Then that country song began to play in my head;   “ You’ve got to stand for something or you’ll fall for anything. “

When I look at what I stand for and how I want to live my life, I am clear about my priorities and what is important.  If I ever doubt myself, I ask ‘what will move me closer to the kind of person I want to be?” If it takes traveling four hours on a train, plane and automobile to walk my talk, then so be it. Family and friends supersede all. So, of course I am going.

Then I took my own advice but inverted it, sorta. Remember I wrote about how I  use my waiting time and travel time to be productive in other ways. I have written about how I rearranged my day to accommodate the time I spend waiting for my, bus, train and automobile journeys. I take my kindle and do my professional reading, or return e-mails from my BB. But, not today. I realized I have been given a gift of time and that time will be spent honoring Ginger, her life and how she has changed the life of so many. Otherwise, I know me. I would work like a mad woman, up until the moment I should leave, then think, worry and navigate traffic in my car without much thought given to where I am going and why.  So thank you for this gift of time. And the opportunity to really get out of my own way and re-confirm what is really important.

I had the honor of working with Ginger and GOCA on many events. So I will travel today for hours, lost in thought about this magnificent women who inspired many and how grateful I am to her for her spirit. I learned much about fortitude from her. Not just about cancer but also about surviving when life isn’t exactly what you thought it would be.

So today is not an either/or day. I still am committed to my priorities. All of them.  And I will honor the gift of time today with Ginger in my thoughts while I am Going AWOC…Atlanta WithOut a Car.

This entry was posted in The Latest. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Latest Realizations – A Peek into My Tent

  1. Dan Loudermilk says:

    I am sorry for your loss, but I am inspired by your pledge to keep your commitment to AWOC. I try to do this as well, so I understand your dilemma and the courage (yes, courage, because it is so easy to just give-in to the impulse of just jumping in the car!)

    Keep up the good work!

    • Going AWOC - Atlanta WithOut a Car says:

      Thank you, Dan. I don’t know if you remember, but the first time I met you, we sat down in your office to talk biz. You shared with me how you would ride your bike to work and to MARTA when appropriate. I was impressed then with your personal commitment. This was at a time when I was just learning about sustainability and going green etc. I was impressed by your actions so, know that you contributed to the seed that grew to AWOC.

  2. Gerri says:

    Thanks for honoring Ginger in your post today. She was definitely an inspiration for all and especially for us survivors.

  3. Suzanne Burnes says:

    You’re quite an inspirational lady yourself, Ms. Stephanie. I know that Ginger would be proud of your commitment. Thanks for the thought-provoking post.

Comments are closed.