Wonderful post by BICYCLE DUTCH: Makes me want to go there! Who will join me? 

It’s summer time, the time for travels! I know a number of Americans who are visiting the Netherlands right now. To see how the Dutch are cycling and to get inspired by the cycling culture in this country. Clarence Eckerson (from Streetfilms) came from New York to shoot some video. Professor Peter Furth from Northeastern University in Boston is here with a class of students learning about Sustainable Transportation on a Summer course. And two of my personal friends from Phoenix Arizona are here on holidays looking forward to having a go at cycling to the beach with me.

Last year Peter Furth explained why he comes to the Netherlands every year with a new class of students. It was broadcast on the local television station of Pijnacker, a small satellite town of The Hague and it got only a few views on YouTube. But what professor Furth has to say deserves much more attention. I have subtitled the few Dutch lines in the video and hope this interview gets the bigger audience it deserves. I met Peter Furth and his students last year. I will see this year’s students later this month.

Professor Peter Furth on what the Americans can learn from the Netherlands.

More on “stroopwafels“.

Clarence Eckerson of StreetFilms is on a small tour of the Netherlands visiting Amsterdam (of course) but also Groningen, where he’ll get a tour from David Hembrow. A very good decision to also have a look past Amsterdam, I think. Read more….

Link | This entry was posted in My Blog Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.